Handling Difficult Children

In actual sense, no child is difficult in that sense of being impossible. The major issue is that each child is unique, some children are evidently unique.

In childrearing, those popularly referred to as difficult children are the children who seem to be strong-willed, decisive and those children who are not easily tamed.

Usually as adults, we believe we know better than children, (and we really do, 95% of the time) so, we should always tell them what to do, where to go, how to do things, etc. Whereas, there are children who love to explore, they love adventures, they want to do their own things in their own way. They do not want to write; they do not want to repeat after the teacher or parent; they do not want to sit down; they do not want to wear that clothes, etc. There are kids like this.

To their parents and caregivers, they are stubborn, heady, unyielding… So, they are difficult.

How do we handle them?

1. Love them: When a child knows that you love him/her, you have won him over. A child obeys you, listens to you, follows you because s/he believes that you love him/her and s/he doesn’t want to lose that love.

Sometimes ago, there was a child at my new Sunday school class. He is evidently unique. My first day at the Sunday school, I noticed that he was separated from other children. His chair was at the fore front away from other kids. Later that day, as I went towards his seat to get something done, he was pulling at my dress. Remember it was my first time at the children church. The next Sunday, his teacher was threatening put his chair at the front again. Immediately, I knew something must be done.

What did i do?

I showed Michael obvious attention. I call him by his name and add fancy titles like Pastor or Engineer Michael (he told me he wanted to be a pastor and engineer). I address him with smiles and gladness written all over my face. I ask ask after his well-being, ask him questions about school, made him feel relevant, allowed him to tell me how many toy cars he has, how he will ride his donkey toy to school, etc. With that, Michael felt loved and started obeying me.

In my next post, I will tell you more about my experience in handling difficult children. I will also discuss few more points on how to handle difficult children.

Anticipate!

Have you challenges handling evidently unique children, let’s talk on 07061070925(watsapp/call/SMS) or alugbinvictoria@gmail.com.

You may drop your comments, questions and observation in the comment section.

#godly_parenting.

#securing_the_future

Leave a comment